The Plan for the Rest of Your Life: Or, the Most Terrifying Activity that Wasn’t Even Meant for Me

My fourth summer job (not kidding) is assistant teaching at a gifted and talented camp. Being one of those little misfits growing up means that I a) get war flashbacks to what it was like being thirteen and thinking that no one would ever understand me and b) I know those squirts down to a science. All of the classes I’m helping with are awesome and I love talking to the kids (aged 13 to 17). But here’s the thing: they’re way way way way way way ahead of me. Sure, I prepped for college and took the tests and thought of all the right things. Yet, there are kids that aren’t even in college and already have a life plan. So the teacher for one of my classes wanted to see what was ticking inside their heads. He asked them to write a timeline from this moment to when they die, including their schooling, job, traveling, hobbies, etc. And talk about INTO IT. I’ve never seen a more focused group of fifteen year olds. I was bored, not having much to do apart from going around and peeking over their bent shoulders. So I decided to do it. And oops.

AGE 20: DOING COLLEGE!!! CONTINUING INTERNSHIPS!!! MAKE MORE FRIENDS!!!
AGE: 22: GRADUATE! GET INTERNSHIP AT RECORD COMPANY!
AGE 24: TOUR MANAGE FOR NEW BAND!
AGE 27: TAKE BREAK FROM TOURING, WORK AT WARPED  BEHIND THE SCENES! TRAVEL ALONG WITH THEM???
AGE 30: FIND CUTE DRUMMER AND MARRY HIM. HONEYMOON = TOUR.
AGE 31: BE ASSISTANT TO LEADER OF SOME MUSIC ORGANIZATION
AGE 35: GO BACK TO TOURING??? WRITE MEMOIR???
I scared myself too much to continue.
Not to freak anyone out, but trying to plan your life is rough. If you asked me to do this when I entered college, or even six months ago, I probably would’ve written completely different things. All the kids had even more completely plans than I did and I was left feeling as though I was treading water in a very deep pool. With no lifejacket.
But…maybe that’s life. Maybe it’s not having a plan that you have to adhere to, but a map you’re stumbling along the way. And if the directions change or you find a different map…great! But for now…here’s to stumbling.
2 comments

  1. Annie · · Reply

    Who needs plans? We’re drifters in the wind! Which is difficult when you go to Emerson and everyone is as self-assured as the 14 year olds your’e teaching…
    On another note, one of my 3rd grade campers told me she was going to be a model in Paris, and she already had her outfits picked out. Talk about advanced planning.
    Miss you lovebug! ❤

  2. That’s a nice little post you wrote there, Z. I think it’s fair for people to not be completely sure what they want to do. Because if you don’t leave anything to chance, then where’s the adventure?

have something to say?

